You are here

Block title
Block content

Premiere Winner of the Electronic Publishing Trust for Development (EPT) Award Announced

from Barbara Kirsop and Electronic Publishing Trust for Development (EPT)

The Electronic Publishing Trust for Development (EPT) supports scholarly publishing in the developing world and facilitates access to research information. EPT recently announced the winners of a new annual award made to individuals working in developing countries who have made a significant personal contribution to advancing the cause of open access and the free exchange of research findings.

EPT received 30 proposals from organizations in 17 developing countries on four continents, naming individuals who have worked hard to promote Open Access and who have achieved substantial progress. The selection of a single winner was extremely difficult as nominations were received for many individuals who have made impressive strides by any or all of the following means:

• establishing OA institutional repositories;
• setting up or encouraging conversion to OA journals;
• achieving establishment of OA mandates requiring research to be OA on  publication, or other policy developments;
• advocating OA via seminars, publications, workshops, videos;
• training others in the technology of setting up IRs;
• preparing and establishing e-learning projects;
• working towards the acceptance of Creative Commons licensing arrangements for research publications;
• developing software for use in OA practices.

Because of the high standard of the applicants, we have decided to name a single winner, but also to recognise three other individuals who were very close runners-up. All will receive a certificate and the winner will receive in addition an engraved plaque in the next few weeks.

The winner of the inaugural award is Dr Francis Jayakanth of the National Centre for Scientific Information, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, India.  Dr Jayakanth played a significant role in the establishment of India’s first institutional repository (IR) ( He now manages the IR and has provided technical support for establishing IRs in many other universities and institutes in India. He has been the key resource person at many events to train people in setting up IRs and OA journals. He has delivered presentations on IRs, OA journals, the OAI protocol, OAI compliance, the benefits of OA to authors and institutions and the role of libraries. He has developed a free and open source software tool (CDSOAI), which is widely used.

The Indian Institute of Science is the most prestigious institute in India and its IR now holds more than 31,400 records, making the century-old institute's research far more globally visible than before. The University Grants Commission in India has been impressed by the IISC’s IR and has directed all universities in India to replicate this effort.

Francis Jayakanth can indeed be considered an OA ‘renaissance man’, an advocate and technical expert in all aspect of Open Access development and an inspiration to all, both at the research and policy level.

The EPT is proud to congratulate Dr Jayakanth as our first award winner. We believe this award and the example of our first winner will inspire many others and lead to similarly impressive nominations  in 2012.

The runners-up for this award were (in alphabetical order):

• Ina Smith, University of Stellenbosch, South Africa;
• Tatyan Zayseva, Khazar University, Azerbaijan;
• Xiaolin Zhang, National Science Library, Chinese Academy of  Science.

The EPT wishes to congratulate them and all who have been proposed, since without exception they have made a significant personal contribution to the sharing of research findings across the world.  We will be sharing some of their stories and successes on our blog over the next few weeks.

Electronic Publishing Trust for Development:

Web site
Ept Blog

Submitted by Carol Minton Morris on Tue, 2012-01-03 16:08