DuraSpace Board of Directors

Paul N. Courant

President, DuraSpace Board of Directors

Paul N. Courant, is University Librarian and Dean of Libraries, Harold T. Shapiro Collegiate Professor of Public Policy, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor, Professor of Economics and Professor of Information at the University of Michigan. In addition to directing the Library his academic work has considered the economics of universities, the economics of libraries and archives, and the effects of new information technologies and other disruptions on scholarship, scholarly publication, and academic libraries.

Amy Brand

Amy Brand is the VP Academic and Research Relations and VP North America for Digital Science, a division of Holtzbrinck that invests in and incubates academic start-ups that provide research information software. She joined Digital Science in 2014 as VP Academic and Research Relations and VP North America to manage the US offices and develop commercial, policy, and research relationships with North American research institutions. From 2008 to 2013, Brand worked at Harvard University, first at the Office for Scholarly Communication where she was the founding Program Manager with responsibility for launching Harvard's open access repository.

Robert Cartolano

Robert is Associate Vice President for Digital Programs and Technology Services for Columbia University Libraries/Information Services. His interest in Fedora Repository development is informed by his accomplishments at Columbia Libraries/Information Services, which include development of a digital preservation storage system, the opening of three new digital centers, as well as a Blacklight-based CLIO (Columbia Libraries Information Online) discovery service. He was formerly Director of the Library Information Technology Office at Columbia.

Dan Cohen

Dan Cohen is the Founding Executive Director of the Digital Public Library of America, where he works to make the cultural, and scientific heritage of humanity available, free of charge, to all.  Prior to his tenure, Dan was the Director of the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University, overseeing projects ranging from new publishing ventures to online collections. In 2011 Dan received the Frederick G. Kilgour Award from the American Library Association for his work in digital humanities, and in 2012 he was named one of the top "tech innovators" in academia by the Chronicle of Higher Education.

Mike Conlon

Dr. Conlon is Co-director of the University of Florida Clinical and Translational Science Institute, and Director of Biomedical Informatics, UF College of Medicine. His responsibilities include expansion and integration of research and clinical resources, and strategic planning for translational research. Previously, Dr. Conlon served as PI of the VIVO project, leading a team of 180 investigators at seven schools in the development, implementation and advancement of an open source, semantic web application for research discovery. Dr. Conlon has served as Chief Information Officer of the University of Florida Health Science Center. His current interests include enterprise change and organizational issues in the adoption of information technology, organization of research resources, and enterprise architecture.

Tom Cramer

Treasurer, DuraSpace Board of Directors
Tom Cramer is the Chief Technology Strategist and Associate Director of Digital Library Systems & Services at Stanford University. He oversees the development and delivery of Stanford’s digital library services for digitization, discovery, delivery, preservation and management of digital resources that support teaching, learning and research. He is a founder of the Hydra Project, an active contributor to Blacklight and other successful open source projects that deal with digital asset management and discovery. He serves as the Chair and Co-Director of PASIG, the Preservation and Archiving Special Interest Group, and is a steering group member for Open Repositories.

Charles J. Henry

Charles J. Henry serves as the President of the Council on Library and Information Resources. Mr. Henry was vice provost and university librarian at Rice University, a position he held since 1996. He was responsible for library services and programs, including the Digital Library Initiative and the Digital Media Center.

Anne Jarvis

Anne Jarvis is University Librarian at the University of Cambridge, UK. She is responsible for the main University Library, its affiliated libraries, and the Centre for Research in Educational Technology. She is currently an elected member of the Board of Research Libraries UK (RLUK), she chairs the Board of Directors for the Agency for Legal Deposit Libraries and she is a Curator of the University Libraries, University of Oxford. Anne is a Leading Change (Frye Leadership) Institute Fellow (2000) and a former Vice-President (2005-2007) of Wolfson College, Cambridge.

Heather Joseph

Heather Joseph has served as the Executive Director of the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition (SPARC) since 2005, broadening access to the results of scholarly research through enabling open access publishing, archiving and policies on a local, national and international level. Prior to SPARC, Heather spent 15 years as a publisher in both commercial and not-for-profit publishing organizations. She served as the publishing director at the American Society for Cell Biology, which became the first journal to commit its full content to the NIH's pioneering open repository, PubMed Central, and subsequently served on the National Advisory Committee for the project. Heather serves on the Board of Directors of numerous not-for-profit organizations, including the Public Library of Science. She is a frequent speaker and writer on scholarly communications in general, and on open access in particular.

Tyler Walters

Secretary, DuraSpace Board of Directors
Tyler Walters currently serves as dean of University Libraries at Virginia Tech. Prior to moving to Virgina Tech., Tyler was the associate dean at the Library and Information Center at Georgia Tech. Walters began his career in 1987 as an assistant in the photographic archives unit of the North Carolina Division of Archives and History. From 1988 to 1992, he served as the assistant university archivist at the Northwestern University Library. In 1992, he went to the Iowa State University Library as assistant professor in the special collections department. He was promoted to associate professor and served as head of the special collections department from 1996 to 1998. In 1998, he was appointed director of the William R. Haselton Library and Knowledge Center at the Institute of Paper Science and Technology, now a unit of Georgia Tech. In 2002, he began as the associate director of digital and technical services at Georgia Tech, later as associate director for technology and resource services, and most recently as associate dean.

Laura C. Wood

Vice President, DuraSpace Board of Directors
Laura C. Wood is the director of Tisch Library at Tufts University. Tisch is the main library, serving the School of Arts and Sciences and the School of Engineering. Her responsibilities include serving as Tufts' representative to the Boston Library Consortium, current chair of the University Library Council, and collaborating on the expansion of Tufts digital infrastructure. From 2004-2011 she was librarian of the Andover-Harvard Theological Library at Harvard Divinity School. Prior to that, she was Technical services librarian and periodicals librarian at Pitts Theology Library at Emory University. She is a former board member and past president of the American Theological Library Association.