You are here

Block title
Block content

Tyler Walters

President, DuraSpace Board of Directors
Tyler Walters is Dean, University Libraries and Professor, Virginia Tech. He is a 2009-10 Leadership Fellow of the Association of Research Libraries. Walters is a past member of the Coalition of Networked Information (CNI) steering committee and currently serves on the boards of DuraSpace, the Educopia Institute, and the Academic Preservation Trust. He is the Virginia Tech representative on the AAU / AAUP / ARL Open Access Manuscript Publishing Initiative and has co-founded organizations such as the Library Publishing Coalition and the ACRL Diversity Alliance. In 2011, Walters was the lead author of the 2011 ARL report, New roles for new times: Digital curation for preservation. He completed a Ph.D. from Simmons College Graduate School of Library and Information Science in 2013. Walters’ dissertation focuses on research program development in major U.S. universities and its impact on libraries. Walters recently finished his term as the founding director of SHARE – the Shared Access Research Ecosystem initiative, a joint undertaking of the Center for Open Science and the Association of Research Libraries. He is currently in engaged in projects such as the AAU / APLU Public Access Working Group.