ALCTS Webinar: Aiming for a Robust Metadata Infrastructure for the Future

Mon, 2011-07-25 11:45 -- carol

From the Association for Library Collections and Technical Services

Chicago, Ill The Library of Congress, the National Agricultural Library, and the National Library of Medicine have jointly determined that to achieve a viable and robust metadata infrastructure for the future, RDA--Resource Description & Access should be in that future. This decision was not made lightly, but based on a substantive test using RDA in which 23 libraries and the three U.S. national libraries participated. This webinar will share the thoughts of LC's Associate Librarian for Library Services, Deanna Marcum, and its Director for Acquisitions & Bibliographic Access, Beacher Wiggins. Dr. Marcum will give her reactions to reviewing and accepting the recommendations of the U.S. RDA Test Coordinating Committee. Mr. Wiggins, a Coordinating Committee co-chair, will describe the test, findings, and analyses that led to the recommendation to implement RDA not sooner than January 2013.

More information: http://connect.ala.org/node/145725

Dates: Monday, August 1, 2011, 2:30-4:00pm Eastern Time, 1:30-3:00 pm Central time, 12:30-2:00pm Mountain Time, and 11:30am -1:00pm Pacific Time.

Presenters include Deanna Marcum, Associate Librarian for Library Services, Library of Congress and Beacher Wiggins, Director for Acquisitions & Bibliographic Access, Library of Congress.

To register complete the online registration form at https://www1.gotomeeting.com/register/520055320 for the session you would like to attend.

For questions about registration, contact Tom Ferren, ALA Senior Registration Coordinator at 1-800-545-2433, ext. 4293 or tferren@ala.org. For all other questions or comments related to the webinars, contact Julie Reese, ALCTS Events Manager at 1-800-545-2433, ext. 5034 or jreese@ala.org.

There is no charge to attend this webinar but advance registration is required