ALCTS to Offer Fall IR Web Seminars

Fri, 2009-09-11 12:20 -- Anonymous (not verified)

Chicago, Ill Following a successful spring web seminar series the Association for Library Collections and Technical Services (ALCTS) has announced that they will offer a fall 2009/spring 2010 series of web seminars on institutional repositories with support from the Berkeley Electronic Press. The series opens on Sept. 23 with a session on the latest key trends in open access in Open Access with Heather Morrison. The full schedule is available here: http://www.ala.org/ala/mgrps/divs/alcts/confevents/upcoming/webinar/ir_series.cfm.

Registration and Fees
The registration fee per session is $39 for ALCTS members and $49 for non-members. To register, complete the online registration form for the session you would like to attend.

Open Access: Key Trends
Presented by Heather Morrison
Wednesday, September 23 at 2pm Eastern (11am Pacific; noon Mountain; 1pm Central)

Click Here to Register
While content recruitment at the local IR may seem slow and painful, from a global / historical perspective, the growth of open access in  all its flavors is nothing short of phenomenal.  The benefits of the IR for authors and for institutions will become more and more apparent in the near future.  The chicken will emerge from the egg, and the IR will be seen as a great career choice.  This session will provide an overview of the latest key trends in open access:  why we need green as well as gold, both institutional and disciplinary repositories, and open access policies to fill the repositories. Institutional open access policies will be highlighted, introducing different types of policies, what makes for good policy, and approaches to open access policy development at the university.
About the Presenter
Heather Morrison is a well-known open access advocate who has written and presented extensively on topics relating to open access and scholarly communication.  Heather is Project Coordinator for BC Electronic Library Network, a consortium of post-secondary libraries in British Columbia, Adjunct Faculty at the University of British Columbia’s School of Library, Archival and Information Studies  (SLAIS),  PhD Student at Simon Fraser University’s School of  Communication, author of Scholarly Communication for Librarians  (Chandos, 2009), and the scholarly blog The Imaginary Journal of  Poetic Economics http://poeticeconomics.blogspot.com.
Questions

For questions about registration, contact Tom Ferren, ALA Senior Registration Coordinator by Phone at 312-280-4293 or 1-800-545-2433, ext. 4293 or by Email at tferren@ala.org .

For all other questions or comments related to the webinars, contact Julie Reese, ALCTS Events Manager by Phone at 312-280-5034 or 1-800-545-2433, ext. 5034 or by Email at jreese@ala.org .

RSS Feeds: 
preserve